Phone: 630-237-4997
2000 Bloomingdale Rd. #110
Glendale Heights, IL 60139
Steve's Cell: 630-865-6849
Steve Jr's Cell: 630-886-1720
Phone: 212-730-8138
723 7th Ave 3rd Floor
New York, NY 10019
  Top » Catalog » Maxwell Announcements » MAXWELL NESTING KIT MODERN DRUMMER 2015 REVIEW Log In |  Cart Contents  |  Checkout | 
Search
 
Use keywords to find the product you are looking for.
Advanced Search
Follow Us
Twitter Facebook InstagramYouTube
Latest products more
George Way 6.5x14" Studio Snare Drum - Walnut Lacquer
George Way 6.5x14" Studio Snare Drum - Walnut Lacquer 
$395.00
Categories
2017 CHICAGO DRUM SHOW

Cymbal Lathing at Maxwell's

PIC OF THE DAY

PLAYER GRADE KITS

Reverb store

SALES AND SPECIALS

STEVE'S SNARE PICKS

Craviotto ->

Drum Sets ->

Snare Drums ->

Single Toms & Bass Drums ->

Cymbals ->

Percussion Instruments ->

Sticks, Brushes, and Mallets ->

Snare Wires and Accessories ->

Drum Heads

Hardware ->

Bags and Cases ->

Special Collections ->

Books and Publications ->

Cowbird Music - Illinois Recording Studio

Lessons and Practice Space ->

Maxwell SWAG

Maxwell Gift Certificates

Illinois Jam Session

Maxwell Newsletter

Steve's Tuning Tips and Weblog

Steve's Video Selections

Maxwell Repair Facility

Video Media

ITEMS COMING SOON

NYC MUSEUM

About Our Sound Files

Ebay Auctions In Progress

!NEW! STEVE'S CELEB AND ULTRA RARE DRUM GALLERY

Maxwell Announcements ->
|__2016 Illinois Shop and Open House Update
|__2016 News for the shops
|__Archived Articles->
|__Aug 10, 2014 DRUM! Magazine Advertising Award
|__August 5, 2017 Tuning Clinic and Jam Session
|__Billy Gladstone information
|__Bob Zildjian
|__Changes to Latest Products section
|__Craviotto AK Masters Brass 2013 Photos
|__Drum Lessons in our Chicagoland store
|__Drummers World in NYC closes
|__DW acquires KMC brands
|__DW and LP NYC Artist Lounge and showroom
|__Espresso Burst Promotion
|__Gretsch 2008 Factory Tour
|__Gretsch 2013 Factory Tour
|__Gretsch Shell Bank Pics
|__Holiday Specials
|__Joe Morello Day Nov 14th 2009
|__Johnny Craviotto
|__Just In and En Route
|__Ludwig Legacy Mahogany. The 50s shell is back! Pics!!
|__Mardi Gras
|__MAXWELL NESTING KIT MODERN DRUMMER 2015 REVIEW
|__Maxwell Snare Catalog Page
|__New From Gretsch
|__NEW Vintage Reproduction Parts
|__New York Store Expansion
|__NYC Cymbal-Centric
|__NYC Gretsch Showroom Expansion 6/6/13
|__NYC Shop Updates->
|__Sabian Factory Trip 5-1-13
|__Sabian NYC Custom Shop
|__Stanton Moore 2016 Masterclass/Clinic
|__STEVE'S SPECIAL DEALS
|__Steve's Vintage Tips
|__TAMA and Peter Erskine Clinic June 20th
|__Tribute to Lennie DiMuzio
|__V Classic Cymbals MD Review
|__V Classic Cymbals Torab Majlesi
|__Vic Firth Tribute
|__Zildjian K Day 2016 in NYC Oct 29
|__Zildjian K Day 2016 LIST OF ITEMS
|__Zildjian K-Day 2015!
|__NEW LUDWIG LEGACY AND MORE
|__Leedy USA Custom Shop->
|__NYC Repair Shop with Willie Martinez
|__RECORDING STUDIO SUPPORT
|__Player News and Updates->
|__HOW WE SUPPORT MUSIC

Steve's Drum Facts ->

Museum Archives ->

KAT Electronic Drums
Information
Maxwell Drums Philosophy
Shipping and returns
Privacy
Store Hours
International
Links
Contact Us
Your Account
Your Email Address
Your Password
Specials more
Ludwig 22/13/16 Legacy Mahogany Drum Set
Ludwig 22/13/16 Legacy Mahogany Drum Set
$3,250.00
$2,675.00
Manufactures
Payment Methods We Accept
BOX_INFORMATION_CARDMODULE_PAYMENT_PAYPAL_ID
BOX_INFORMATION_CARDMODULE_PAYMENT_PAYPAL_ID
MAXWELL NESTING KIT MODERN DRUMMER 2015 REVIEW

(Taken from the June 2015 Modern Drummer Product Close-Up. Review by Miguel Monroy. See the MD video feature HERE.)

BIG VERSATILE TONES IN AN ULTRA COMPACT PACKAGE:

If you've ever had to pack up your set and navigate city streets stairs and sidewalks, you might agree that bigger is not always better. It's no wonder that drummers are experimenting more with different set up configurations to help lighten the load. We’ve seen this take shape through cajon-based kits or the use of electronics to supplement acoustic drums without adding too much extra gear.

Maxwell Drums has an all acoustic option that may provide just the solution you need to pack a huge sound in an ultra-portable set up. It's called the Nesting Kit ($1749) and we found that is just as enjoyable to carry as it is to play.

SPECS AND FEATURES:

The Nesting Kit comes in a three piece shell pack featuring a bass drum, rack tom, and floortom. Matching snares are also available in a variety of sizes though they won't be able to nest with the rest of the kit. The shell pack that we received for review included an 8x10" rack tom, a 13x14" floor tom, and a 14x18" bass drum. The toms consist of six ply maple shells while the bass drum is eight ply maple. All of the drums come standard with 45° bearing edges and Yamaha hardware including a bass-drum-mounted tom holder. In addition to the kit we received Maxwell offers another shell pack with a 16 inch bass drum, 10 inch rack tom and 13 inch floor tom, as well as the option to have any sizes custom-made with nesting capabilities.

The bass drum and floor tom are equipped with butterfly latches and internal seating rings that allow you to separate the shell in half and put it back together with a consistently flawless seal. The rack tom fits snugly inside the floor tom which fits perfectly inside the bass drum.

The entire nesting kit can be stowed in a bass drum case with the exception of any additional hardware, cymbals and drums that you'd like to bring along. To keep things as portable and light as possible we paired the nesting kit with a 5x12" snare, a cable driven hi hat which we attached to the tom stand, and a crash-ride cymbal.

SIZE VERSUS SOUND:

You might think that with smaller shell sizes that separate into two halves you would be sacrificing sound in some way. But we were happy to learn that no such concessions seem to exist as we played the nesting kit in a wide range of styles and at various dynamic levels. Quite simply we couldn't identify any differences between this outfit and other similarly sized drum sets caused by the nesting design. The warmth and buttery sound of the maple shells held true from the lowest to the highest tuning. The bass drum came with a felt cloth that helped shave off some of the overtones and provided just the right amount of dampening to maintain an open yet controlled tone. The bass drum also retained the projection and big sound that we've come to expect from a maple shell. Furthermore, the smaller size gave us just enough control over the tone and resonance that we decided not to use additional internal dampening for funk/rock grooves. The fat and open yet control sound of this kick was simply too addictive to tame.

A HUGE WIN:

There's no doubt that the nesting kit from Maxwell Drums is a great option not only for players in the market for an ultra compact drum set but also for anyone looking for a small but diverse kit to meet a wide range of musical needs. The toms sang with the delicate response of maple while the bass drum offered a great wide open punch that sat perfectly in the mix.

SEE OUR NESTING KITS HERE.


Copyright © 2003 Oscommerce
Powered by Oscommerce
Using Version [CRE Loaded6 v6.1]

Comodo SSL Certificate